The Music of my Life

Every two years, we try and discuss the last two years in song. It is, as I have said it before, time.

I sound manic depressive with these music choices, don’t I? 😉

September 2010: (Basel) Nowadays (You can like the life you’re living/ You can live the life you like/ You can even marry Harry/ But mess around with Ike/ And that’s… good, isn’t it? Great, isn’t it? Fun…)

October 2010: (Istanbul, Turkey) We no speak Americano (Comme te po’/ Comme te po’/ Comme te po’ capì chi te vò bene/ Si tu le parle ‘mmiezzo americano?/ Quando se fa l’ammore sotto ‘a luna/ Come te vene ‘capa e di: “I love you!?”)

November 2010: (Maputo, Mozambique) Barbara Streisand (Barbara Streisand/ woo woo woo woo woo woo woo/ woo woo woo woo woo woo woo/ woo woo woo woo woo woo woo)

December 2010: (Johannesburg) I wanna break free (I want to break free/ I want to break free/ I want to break free from your lies/ You’re so self satisfied I don’t need you/ I’ve got to break free/ God knows, God knows I want to break free)

January 2011: (Swakopmund, Namibia) Dynamite (I throw my hands up in the air sometimes/ Saying AYO!/ Gotta let go!/ I wanna celebrate and live my life/ Saying AYO!/ Baby, let’s go!)

February 2011: (Johannesburg) With or without you (Through the storm we reach the shore/ You give it all but I want more/ And I’m waiting for you/ With or without you/ With or without you/ I can’t live with or without you)

March 2011: (Brussels) Rockstar (It’s like the bottom of the ninth/ And I’m never gonna win/ This life hasn’t turned out/ Quite the way I want it to be)

April 2011: (New York) New York, New York (These vagabond shoes / They are longing to stray / Right through the very heart of it / New York, New York)

May 2011: (Kalamata, Greece) Tonight’s gonna be a good night (I gotta feeling, that tonight’s gonna be a good night, that tonight’s gonna be a good night…)

June 2011: (Kitzbuehl) Club can’t handle me right now (You know I know how/ To make em stop and stare as I zone out/ The club can’t even handle me right now/ Watchin’ you watchin’ me I go all out)

July 2011: (Johannesburg) Glycerine (Don’t let the days go by/Gylcerine/ Could have been easier on you/ Couldn’t change though I wanted to)

August 2011: (Cape Town) Alors Danse (Mais c’est ton corps c’est pas le ciel alors tu t’bouche plus les oreilles/Et là tu cries encore plus fort et ca persiste…/Alors on chante)

September 2011: (Kruger) Rollin’ in the Deep (The scars of your love remind me of us/ They keep me thinking that we almost had it all/ The scars of your love, they leave me breathless/ I can’t help feeling/ We could have had it all)

October 2011: (London) Carmen Burana (Loud overture ;-))

November 2011: (Milan) Paradise (Life goes on, it gets so heavy /The wheel breaks the butterfly / Every tear a waterfall / In the night the stormy night she’ll close her eyes /In the night the stormy night away she’d fly)

December 2011: (Sydney, Australia) What a wonderful world (The colors of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky/ Are also on the faces of people going by/ I see friends shaking hands, saying how do do you do?/ They’re really saying, I love you)

January 2012: (Trivandrum) Somewhere over a rainbow (Somewhere over the rainbow/Skies are blue/And the dreams that you dare to dream/Really do come true)

February 2012: (Moscow) Aaromale (Mamaleyeri varrum thennal/ Puthu mannavaalan thennal/ Palli medeye thottu thalodi kurushil thozhudu varunbol/ Varavelppinu Malayalee karra manasamadhan choriyum/ Aaromale, Aaromale)

March 2012: (Vancouver) On the Floor (If you go hard you gotta get on the floor/ If you’re a party freak then step on the floor/If you’re an animal then tear up the floor)

April 2012: (Vancouver) Somebody that I used to know (Now and then I think of all the times you screwed me over/ But had me believing it was always something that I’d done/ And I don’t wanna live that way/ Reading into every word you say/ You said that you could let it go/ And I wouldn’t catch you hung up on somebody that you used to know)

May 2012: (Seattle) Nantes (Well, it’s been a long time, long time now/ Since I’ve seen you smile/ And I’ll gamble away my fright/ And I’ll gamble away my time)

June 2012: (San Francisco) San Francisco (Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair) (All across the nation such a strange vibration/ People in motion/ There’s a whole generation with a new explanation/ People in motion people in motion)

Leave a Reply

