The Monologue of the Blogger as a Youngish Lady

Or this must be where I grow up.

 

 

In the rustling of a few calender pages,

The days, swiftly, they change.

 

I remember those halcyon days, I do,

Of reversed Cs, E’s and two times two.

Before confusion beset my poor soul,

Before I assumed this responsible role,

I remember I was quite young and gung-ho,

From shiny hair to tippy-toe-toe.

 

In the rustling of a few calender pages,

The days, swiftly, they change.

 

Then I moved on to pretended understanding,

Of calculus, science and that other thing.

(At the tip of my tongue it is,  trust me,

Dammit, my memory isn’t what it used to be)

Head stuck in the clouds, nose firmly in a book,

Adolescence passed me by with nary a look.

 

In the rustling of a few calender pages,

The days, swiftly, they change.

 

College came and went in a dizzy,

Quite quickly, more’s the pity,

Made my friends, few and fast,

These friendships are meant to last.

Things were beginning to make sense,

Or maybe I was getting less dense?

 

In the rustling of a few calender pages,

The days, swiftly, they change.

 

Where have the last three years gone?

People tell me I have grown up.

Yes, I get a monthly cheque,

I pay my bills.

But I still don’t know what I want, will I ever?

Help me please, I have now become young-ish,

And from Miss I don’t want to be Missus.

 

In the rustling of a few calender pages,

The days, swiftly, they change.

3 thoughts on “The Monologue of the Blogger as a Youngish Lady

  1. What happened to the rhyme scheme in the last stanza?? Please don’t turn into a non-rhyming Tagorian poetess, MISS.
    (And I’d “Like” it too, love, if I weren’t too lazy to create an account. I swear!)

  2. Lovely 🙂
    Seem to have missed reading this somehow!
    And, I agree with ‘rovingeye’, I would like it too, if I hadn’t unceremoniously forgotten my wordpress user name and password.

Leave a Reply

