Viva la Vida

I usually have my own ideas about music <as chronicled before>. That was almost two years ago.

A lot of water has passed under the bridge. The bridge still stands, a little more worn, a little worse for the wear, battle-worn but still steadfast. And yet, the water still comes.

The songs have changed. Here are some, for your reading pleasure (or rather so that I remember it later!) along with some pertinent lyrics from my life in very cryptic form!

August 2008, Provence: Fais moi une place. (Je deviendrai tout fou, tout clown, gentil/Pour q’tu souries)

September 2008, Brussels & London:  Say it Right (No, you don’t mean nothing at all to me/ Oh, you’ve got what it takes to set me free)

October 2008, Tenerife: Michelle (Sont des mots qui vont tres bien ensemble/ tres bien ensemble)

November 2008, London: Romeo & Juliet (Juliet, the dice was loaded from the start/ And I bet and you exploded in my heart/ And I forget, I forget the movie song/ When you gonna realize, it was just that the time was wrong, Juliet?)

December 2008, Brussels home: Rehab (And it’s not just my pride/ it’s just ’til these tears have dried)

January 2009, Interlaken: World, hold on (World, hold on, instead of messing with our future, open up inside)

February 2009, Brussels client site: Heal the world (Then why keep strangling life? Wound this earth, crucify its soul? Though it’s plain to see/This world is lovely/Be God’s glow)

March 2009, Havana 😉 : Please don’t stop the music (I’m making my way over to my favorite place/I gotta get my body moving shake the stress away)

April 2009, On the Autobahn enroute to Budapest: Yeh Dilli Hai Mere Yaar (Basti hai mastaano ki Dilli, Dilli/ galli hai diwaano ki Dilli 6)

May 2009, London: Hakuna Matata (It means no worries for the rest of your days/It’s a problem free philosophy)

June 2009, Brussels office: Stayin’ Alive (Well, now I get low and I get high/ And if I can’t get either I really try/ I’ve got the wings of heaven on my shoes / I’m a dancing man, I just can’t lose)

July 2009, Cairo: Walk like an Egyptian (All the bazaar men by the Nile/ They got the money on a bet/ Gold crocodiles/They snap their teeth on your cigarette)

August 2009, Sharm-el-Sheikh: Beggin’ You (Ridin’ high, when I was king/Played it hard and fast ‘cos I had everything)

September 2009, Kitzbuehl: Barbera Ann (You got rockin’ & a-rollin’/Rockin’ and a-reelin’, Barbera Ann)

October 2009, Cairo: Nothing else matters (So close, no matter how far/Couldn’t be much more from the heart/Forever trusting who we are/And nothing else matters)

November 2009, Cairo office late nights: I gotta a feeling (I gotta feeling/ That tonight’s gonna be a good night/That tonight’s gonna be a good good night)

December 2009, Cairo office later nights: You spin my head right round (Walk out the house with my swagga/ Hop in the with you I got places to go /People to see, time is precious) It is!

January 2010, Brussels office: Mercy (I don’t know what this is but you got me good/Like you knew you would)

February 2010, Switzerland: Wish you were here (So you think you can tell/ Heaven from Hell/ Blue skies from pain?)

March 2010, Switzerland: Viva la vida(One minute I held the key/ Next the walls were turned on me/ I discovered that my castle stands/ Upon pillars of salt & pillars of sand)

April 2010, Poland: Roni, Roni Bat Zion (Heshir hashem mishpotaich/ Pina oyvech/ Melech Israel/ Adonai/ Bekirbech/ Al tirai). To be precise actually, this song reminds me more of my 12th board exams than the concentration camps in Auschwitz. However, this is most fitting.

May 2010, Switzerland: Stairway to heaven (Yes, there are two paths you can go by/But in the long run/There’s still time to change the road you’re on)

June 2010, Brussels-Munich-London: Glycerine (Could have been easier on you/ I coudn’t change though I wanted to/ Should have been easier by three/ Our old friend fear and you and me)

July 2010, London: Hallelujah (Now I’ve heard there was a secret chord/ That David played, and it pleased the Lord/ But you don’t really care for music, do you? It goes like this/ The fourth, the fifth/ The minor fall, the major lift/ The baffled king composing Hallelujah)

August 2010, …: Empire State of Mind (These streets will make you feel brand new/ the lights will inspire you/ Let’s hear it for New York, New York, New York)

2 thoughts on “Viva la Vida

  1. Pingback: The Music of my Life « The Printed Jezebel

Leave a Reply

