The Meridian

It’s amazing how the mind tricks you into believing that this is the “new normal”.

You work everyday in the most beautiful campus in Switzerland, cooped in a room you not-so-lovingly refer to as the dungeon. You stagger home every night (or morning) at 2 AM back to a steel and glass monstrosity and all you can do is have the “normal chicken” and bury your head into the pillow.

And then you wake up at 8, have a croissant and restart work at 8:30.

Weekends are spent in bed and in hope.

***

I told the nice Customs guy at the Gare du Midi that I was a consultant working in Switzerland. As an afterthought I added, “it’s not as exciting as it sounds.”

***

I was walking through the perfume section today in the department store when I felt overwhelmingly sad. I don’t know if you know what I mean… it’s like someone just squeezed your heart a bit and all you really want to do is sit into a nice cushion and sob into a handkerchief. Preferably one that’s kind of lacy and ladylike.

***

I am getting a bit tired of my morals. You know, the ones that keep niggling away at me? Sometimes, just sometimes, I think I am just a bit too good for my own good.

***

I spent the whole of Wednesday putting paperclips on my teammate’s shirt and generally behaving like I was 10 years old and on a sugar high. You know, my OLD normal. He just had one thing to tell me, “I am glad you are so happy today. But why?”

***

Life should be better, shouldn’t it? This shouldn’t be my meridian.

7 thoughts on “The Meridian

Leave a Reply

