TitleLess

Been feeling rather sleepy for sometime. I started reading “Interesting Times” by Pratchett. I have to say Rincewind is not my favourite. I could be biased, but his character in Last Continent is extremely weak. On the other hand, the more I read about Vimes and Vetinari, the more I like them…
Thing is, I’ve been feeling rather at odds with myself lately, kind of confused and disconnected. It must be the reactions of all the work I’ve been doing lately.
Then, there’s this small question about blogging, too many things to say, but when it comes down to it, can I really commit to posterity what I really would not like to bring into being by thinking about too much… I don’t think so..
I think I will take the offer on being quiet that people offer me ALL the time…

8 thoughts on “TitleLess

  1. bheema v

    I don’t love Rincewind. Most of time I enjoy reading his story, but of course he will never by like Granny W or Captain V or Carrot or Vetinari. But there is this nostalgic thing about Rincewind as far as I am concerned. Geeky, nerdy, but absolutely no good at anything. Reminds me of me.

    And then there is that fact that fact that the first DW book I read was “The Fifth Elephant” (a great introduction to The NightWatch,) and then for the longest time I couldn’t find another book from the series and a nearly went mad (some say I did.)

    And then I got the book, incidentally about Octarine. And it was such a relief to be back in Discworld, that I liked Rincewind.

    I read most of the DW series after that in the correct order, skipped a few because they weren’t available. A couple of months I thought I had finally finished everyone of them and consequently fell into a dark depression, until I realized that I had missed “The Interesting Times”.

    Actually loved it. Loved it like I loved all the rest.

    Life in Interesting Times 😛

    I guess I kind of just wrote random words up there. Don’t get to talk about TP too much. Thats all.

  2. Amit

    I like Rincewind..Rincewind’s the most unlikely hero you’ll find…the guy’s geeky, a coward and just plain funny…..Samuel Vimes, Havelock Vetinari et al are heroes in the traditional sense, they’r strong, they stand up for what they believe etc etc…but Rincewind’s different….

  3. Shrutz

    So, everyone thinks Rincewind reminds themselves of themselves? “:D 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 :D” @Densel!
    Hey, I like Vimes and Vetinari and they’re not real heroes either (Cohen is!)
    First Pratchet = Men at Arms
    Second = Soul Music & Pyramids
    Pterry rocks! All heil

  4. bheema v

    I was reading some useless fantasy yesterday, and I realized that one of the best things about pratchett is that he is noway, nowhere like the rest of the Fantasy writers.

    A lot more people do what they would in DW than anywhere else. Even Rincewind. Who after all just wants to stay alive … and has managed to so far.

  5. Amit

    First Pratchett: Light Fantastic..
    Second Pratchett: The rest of em were a blur..i’m going too fast!!

    Thing about Rincewind is, there’s no higher morals, or higher purposes involved when he does something..its just plain run for his life..the rest of the things like saving the world etc, just happen…Cohen’s the traditional “Hero” hero..Vimes and Vetinarii are heroes too, Vetinarii plays life like Chess, while Vimes gets into occasional bouts of selfless behaviour..hero material both..

Leave a Reply

